The US Open is held in many different courses with the criterion of heavy difficulty, so normally even the best golfers in the top group only achieve results around the benchmark.

Play-off mode

The US Open is the only tournament in the four major tournaments to have a full 18-hole playoff round on Monday if after the fourth round on Sunday the top golfers have equal scores. The other three major tournaments, Masters, British Open, and PGA Championship, all chose the play-off solution on Sunday.

If after the first extra round there is still no win, the players will play the play-off with the new rules. Historically, the US Open has three times this happened. The most recent time, in 2008, Tiger Wood beat Rocco Mediate in the first extra hole. The remaining two times were 1990 and 1994.

The US Open is the only golf tournament in the four major tournaments

Before the “sudden death” law came into being in the 1950s, in the case of a score after 5 rounds (4 main rounds and one extra round) golfers would play 18 holes like in 1925, 1939, and 1946. Even more, lice, if they still have not finished, they will play 2 more rounds (36 holes total) as in 1931.

The records of the US Open golf tournament

Longest winning streak: three times, by Willie Anderson in 1903, 1904, and 1905.

The longest continuous competition: 44 years, by Jack Nicklaus from 1957 to 2000.

Winning has the biggest difference: 15 Tiger Woods in 2000. This is also a record in all major tournaments.

The lowest score of 36 holes, 54 holes, and 72 holes all belonged to Rory McIlroy when he won the title in 2011 (131 strokes, 199 strokes, and 268 strokes, respectively). His four-round results were 65, 66, 68, and 69 strokes.

Fewest under par after 72 holes: 16 negatives, Rory McIlroy, 2011.

Golfers who played all four rounds under par: Lee Trevino, 1968 (69–68–69–69, par 70); Tony Jacklin, 1970 (71-70-70-70, par 72); Lee Janzen, 1993 (67-67-69-69, par 70); Curtis Strange, 1994 (70-70-70-70, par 71); Rory McIlroy (65-66-68-69, par 71) and Robert Garrigus (70-70-68-70), 2011.

All 4 rounds under 70 strokes: Trevino, 1968; Janzen, 1993; McIlroy, 2011.