There were 16 golfers behind Dustin Johnson’s lead in just about four strokes, after 54 holes of the major event at TPC Harding Park.

After the penultimate round on 8/8, Johnson jumped 10 steps to monopolize the top of the board at -9. This round, he hit 65 strokes (par70) scored eight birdies, kept eight par, bogey in hole 6, and double bogey hole 9.

Self-control was a problem for Johnson in the final rounds of the major

This is the fourth time the American golfer alone or copper has taken the lead after 54 holes in major. But three times ago, at the US Open 2010, 2015, and 2018, he failed to break the standard stroke of the pitch in the last round or win the final.

The defending champion Koepka of the T4 group with a score of -7 with Collin Morikawa and Paul Casey. With two strokes behind Johnson, Koepka is still on his way to winning the PGA Championship three times in a row following the streak format adopted in 1958. In history, Walter Hagen is the only one to have a four-win streak since 1924. until 1927, but at that time, the event was also fighting against a match.


In the history of the traditional major quartet since 1860, only six golfers have won for three consecutive years at an event in this group. The closest person to achieve that feat was Peter Thomson, at The Open Championship from 1954 to 1956.

Contrary to Johnson, the past favors Koepka. He leads or is one stroke behind before reaching the final round in all four previous major wins, including twice at the US Open. As for the PGA Tour, the Phoenix Open 2015 title was the only victory when he was three strokes behind and 18 holes left.

From the top of the group to T13 a total of 17 people in the four-stroke range, including Johnson, achieved the largest number of such a gap after the PGA Championship’s 54 holes since 1993 – the year that holds the statistic peak in this regard with 18. people.

Scottie Scheffler and Cameron Champ stood T2 with -8. Having been professional since 2018, Scheffler has just attended three major in 30 events and has not won a title at the PGA Tour.

As can be seen, the upcoming race to win the PGA Championship 2020 is having many interesting things to expect.